We may earn a commission from provider links, at no added cost to you. Compensation never changes scores; some lists place partners first. Read our affiliate disclosure.
Teladoc Health review
Teladoc Health is the one entry on this list a mother cannot simply buy. Read live on 2026-08-26, its own eligibility answer says that an insurance provider, employer or plan sponsor must offer access to a program that includes visits with a care provider before a GLP-1 prescription is even discussed — so if your job does not carry it, this is not an option, whatever a search result implies. And nothing on its public GLP-1 pages is priced. There is no membership figure, no visit fee and no medication cost, only a line saying the cost varies based on insurance coverage and individual plan benefits and a warning that coverage does not always mean the medication is free. No molecule and no brand is named anywhere either, so you would not know what you were being considered for. What it does well is warn you about friction rather than hide it: it says filling a prescription can take several weeks and that administrative follow-up may be needed, and it names prior authorization, program engagement requirements and appeal letters as steps that may apply. Its headline outcome claim is footnoted rather than floated — 12 percent average weight loss at 12 months, defined against members with a BMI of 30 or more and at least four fills in six months. For a reader paying cash and comparing monthly prices, there is nothing here to compare.
Not disclosed
- HSA / FSA-eligible
- Editor-vetted
- No insurance needed
Teladoc Health at a glance
- Semaglutide
- Not disclosed
- Tirzepatide
- Not disclosed
- Coverage
- Not disclosed — access depends on your employer or insurance plan
- Start
- Not published — it says filling can take several weeks
How we scored Teladoc Health
Each factor is read off Teladoc Health's published pricing, disclosures and intake flow, and the six roll up into the 26/100 Rx-Readiness Score on the same weighted six-factor framework we apply to every provider — never nudged by whether a provider pays us.
Scored on what it says, not on a gap: filling the prescription can take several weeks and administrative follow-up may be needed for approval, with prior authorization and appeals among the possible steps.
Nothing is priced anywhere. No membership, no visit fee, no medication figure — only a statement that cost varies by plan and a warning that coverage does not always mean free.
It says you schedule a visit with a care provider, and never says whether that visit is a video call, a phone call or an asynchronous review. Scored on the gap.
Worse than an unpublished state list: access is conditional on an employer, insurer or plan sponsor offering a qualifying program, so where you live is not even the binding constraint.
No molecule and no brand is named anywhere on the public GLP-1 pages, so there is no way to tell what is available on the plan you would be joining.
Scored on the gap. Nothing about canceling, pausing or leaving the program is published, which follows from the program being arranged through a sponsor rather than bought.
How we verified this review
- Last verified
- August 2026
- Confidence
- high
- Primary source
- www.teladochealth.com
You cannot buy this. Teladoc's own eligibility answer says an insurance provider, employer or plan sponsor must offer access to a qualifying program before a GLP-1 conversation happens at all, and no price appears anywhere on its GLP-1 pages — no membership, no visit fee, no medication figure. It is candid about friction, warning that filling a prescription can take several weeks and that coverage does not always mean the medication is free, but it names no molecule and no brand.
What to expect when you sign up
We walked Teladoc Health's public signup funnel (August 2026) — a first-hand look at the flow. We don't create accounts, enter medical data, or complete checkout, so this is what any visitor sees, not a patient outcome.
- 1Read the public GLP-1 page without an account — every call to action is Check my eligibility rather than a price or a sign-up.
- 2Teladoc's own account of eligibility: your insurance provider, employer or plan sponsor must offer access to a program that includes visits with a care provider to discuss GLP-1 prescriptions.
- 3If your program includes that access, Teladoc says you schedule a visit and a care provider evaluates whether a GLP-1 is appropriate.
What we noticed
- This is not a service a person can simply buy. Teladoc states that an insurance provider, employer or plan sponsor must offer access to a qualifying program before a GLP-1 conversation is even on the table.
- No price appears anywhere on the GLP-1 pages — not a membership, not a visit fee, not a medication figure. The nearest thing is a sentence saying the cost of GLP-1 medications varies based on insurance coverage and individual plan benefits.
- The self-pay language is conditional twice over: if prescribed and your insurance does not cover the medication, self-pay options may be available and there may be out-of-pocket costs.
- It is candid about friction, which is worth crediting. It says filling the prescription can take several weeks and administrative follow-up may be needed, and lists prior authorization, program engagement requirements and appeal letters among the possible steps.
- It also warns that coverage does not always mean the medication is free, and that patient assistance programs may be time-limited.
- No molecule and no brand is named anywhere on the public GLP-1 pages — only the category.
- The outcome claims are footnoted and narrow: 12 percent average weight loss at 12 months is defined against engaged members with a BMI of 30 or more and at least four GLP-1 fills in the last six months of enrollment.
- Nothing addresses pregnancy, breastfeeding or postpartum timing.
What we like
- Warns plainly that filling a prescription can take several weeks and that administrative follow-up may be needed, rather than promising a same-week start
- Footnotes its 12 percent weight-loss claim with a defined population instead of floating a bare number
- Insurance and prior-authorization work is the point of the product, and it says so
- Names its operating entity, Teladoc Health, Inc., in its own footer
The caveats
- Access is gated: its own answer says an insurance provider, employer or plan sponsor must offer a qualifying program before a GLP-1 conversation happens
- No price is published anywhere on the GLP-1 pages — not a membership, not a visit fee, not a medication figure
- No molecule and no brand is named on any public GLP-1 page, only the category
- Self-pay is described twice conditionally: options may be available and there may be out-of-pocket costs
- Teladoc Health's own homepage lists BetterHelp among its services, and in July 2023 the Federal Trade Commission finalized an order requiring BetterHelp to pay $7.8 million and barring it from sharing consumers' health data for advertising, on charges it disclosed email addresses and health questionnaire information to Facebook, Snapchat, Criteo and Pinterest
- No state list, and nothing addresses pregnancy, breastfeeding or postpartum timing
Teladoc Health for working moms: our verdict
Teladoc Health is best assessed on the total charge, your state eligibility, and how easily you can stop future billing.
Before choosing Teladoc Health, confirm the prescription offered, the services included, and the renewal terms. The sections below separate those decisions so you can compare the same costs and commitments.
What Teladoc Health will cost you
We do not have a confirmed standard monthly cash total for Teladoc Health. A public starting price may cover a particular dose, introductory period or longer commitment. Get a written quote that identifies the medication, required fees, supply period and renewal charge before paying.
The medications Teladoc Health prescribes
Teladoc Health prescribes a GLP-1 medication. For any compounded option, confirm the dispensing pharmacy and formulation. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved finished products.
Where Teladoc Health fits — and where it doesn't — for working moms
Right for you if…
- you want a straightforward a GLP-1 medication program and will confirm the details before you commit.
Not your best option if…
- you specifically want an FDA-approved brand pen and insurance navigation.
Trust, safety, and the fine print
Before enrolling with Teladoc Health, confirm the clinician, the dispensing pharmacy, and how to reach the care team between refills. As with any compounded GLP-1, the most useful thing working moms can do is confirm which licensed pharmacy fills the prescription and what's in the formulation — we explain how we weigh oversight in our scoring methodology.
Discuss pregnancy plans and breastfeeding with your clinician before starting or continuing treatment. Product-specific recommendations differ; this program review cannot establish that a medication is appropriate for you.
The bottom line
Choose Teladoc Health only when the ongoing cost and care arrangements fit your needs. Ask for the next charge, the cancellation deadline, and a contact for treatment questions before paying. Compare the same drug, supply period, and commitment across providers.
The bottom line for working moms
Best for: A mother whose employer or health plan already includes Teladoc, who wants her insurance to carry the cost and has the patience for prior authorization. Nobody paying cash.
Alternatives to Teladoc Health
Providers we have a referral relationship with, ordered by Rx-Readiness Score — highest first. A fee never moves a score, but it does decide who appears here, so this is not the full list: see the complete review directory.
- Visit CoreAge RxRx-Readiness95100CoreAge RxOur #1 pick
The shortlist pick: one flat price that doesn't climb as your dose does, both molecules on a single plan, and a nationwide async intake you can finish on a break.
- Visit Trimi HealthRx-Readiness88100
The price-first partner: some of the lowest flat, all-inclusive compounded pricing we track, nationwide and async — strong if the monthly number is your deciding factor and you read the annual-prepay fine print.
- Visit Gala HealthRx-Readiness85100
A flat $179 for either molecule with a genuinely gentle microdosing tier — a reasonable, all-doses-included partner if you can live with a yearly plan and a pharmacy it doesn't name.
Keep comparing Teladoc Health
Head-to-head & alternatives
Teladoc Health, answered
- Can I get a GLP-1 from Teladoc without my employer?
- Its own answer says no. Teladoc states that your insurance provider, employer or plan sponsor must offer access to a program that includes visits with a care provider to discuss GLP-1 prescriptions. If none of those applies to you, this is not a service you can sign up for and pay for yourself.
- How much does Teladoc's GLP-1 program cost?
- It does not say — anywhere. There is no membership price, no visit fee and no medication figure on any of its public GLP-1 pages. The closest it comes is a line saying the cost of GLP-1 medications varies based on insurance coverage and individual plan benefits, and a warning that coverage does not always mean the medication is free.
- Which GLP-1 medication would Teladoc prescribe?
- It never names one. The public pages discuss GLP-1 medications as a category and mention neither a molecule nor a brand, so you would not know what you were being considered for until after a visit you may not be eligible to book.
- How long does Teladoc take?
- Longer than most of this list, on its own account. It says filling the prescription can take several weeks and that administrative follow-up may be needed for approval, listing prior authorization, program engagement requirements and appeal letters among the possible steps.
- What is the 12 percent weight-loss figure Teladoc quotes?
- It is real but narrow, and the footnote matters. Teladoc defines it as the average weight loss at 12 months for engaged members with a BMI of 30 or greater and at least four GLP-1 fills in the last six months of the enrollment period, where engaged means weighing in at least three days a week and doing other activities at least five days a week.
Pricing, states and verification reflect Teladoc Health's public disclosures at last review; the Rx-Readiness Score is our editorial judgment per the published methodology. This is background reading, not medical advice — GLP-1 medications are not established as safe in pregnancy or breastfeeding. See our medical disclaimer and how we're funded.